Taupo Association Football Club
Taupo Association Football Club - Club Logo

Taupo Association Football Club

"Whoever invented football should be worshipped as a God" - Hugo Sanchez

Timeline and Honours

WaiBOP Federation League

Winners 2004,2005,2006,2007, 2008, 2012

Runners Up 2009

Northern League Div 3

Nils Person Cup 1998

Waikato Bay of Plenty Federation Challenge Shield

2006,2007, 2008, 2009,2012

Northern League Div 2

Pascoe Shield 1999

Northern League Div 4

Ponsonby Jubilee Cup 1992

Nothern League Div 4 South

Innes Tartan Cup 1987

Runners Up 1984, 1985

Northen League Div 4 South

Coltman Cup 1978

Best Goal Difference in Northern League

Mackley Rosebowl 1987, 1992, 1998, 1999

Country Foods Northern League team of the month


Bay of Plenty Div 1

Winners 2006,2015

Runners Up 2003

Bay of Plenty Div 1

Reserves 1993

Bay Of Plenty League Div 3

1980, 2000

Bay of Plenty League Div 4

Taupo Great Lakers 2003

Taupo Reserves 2003

Bay of Plenty Rotorua B Division


Bay of Plenty League Prudential

1984, 2007

Bay of Plenty Womens League

Winners 1976, 1977, 1978, 1979, 1980, 1981, 1982,1983,1985

Runners Up 2007,2011

Bay of Plenty League Knockout


Bay of Plenty Womens League B Div

Runners Up 2005

Bay of Plenty Womens Bowl KO

Winners 2008,2010

Runners Up 2005

Bay of Plenty Under 19 League

Gino Viertel Trophy 1999

Bay wide Youth League

Winners 1991,1993,2008,2014

Runners Up 1998,2015

Central North Island League

Winners 1972

Runners Up 1967, 1971

Central NI League KO

Winners 1967,1971,1972

Runners Up 1970

Central NI League Div 2


Tongariro League Knockout


Taupo New World Cup Tournament

Winners 1975,1987,1988

Runners Up 1978,1993

New World Cup Tournament Supplementary Cup

Winners 1983,1988, 1992

Runners Up 1989

Taupo New World Cup Tournament

Consolation Shield 1976


Taupo New World Womens Tournament


Bay Day Tournament

Winners 1980

Runners Up 1982

Cambridge Pre Season Tournament

Runners Up 1982

Kawerau Pre Season Tournament


Thames Pre Season Tournament

Toyota Cup Winners 1987

Runners Up 1988,1992,1993

North City FA Womens Tournament


Masters Games

Gold Medal 2001,2008

Silver 2014,2015

BoP Riverslea Youth Tournament

Runners Up 1983,1984

City of Manakau Cup

Winners 1998

Waikato Regional Sports Awards

Club of the Year 1999

Taupo District Sports Awards

Team of the Year 1992,1999

Taupo District Sports Awards - Coach of the Year

Richard Hudson 1992,1999

Taupo District Sports Awards

Supreme Award 1999

Taupo District Sports Awards

Supreme Award 1999

Taupo District Sports Awards-Sportsman of the Year

Brian Radebe 2007

Waibop Womens Plate

BOP Div 2

BOP Div 2 1980,2000

BOP Div 3

Taupo Youth Team 1997

BOP Div 3

Taupo nui a Tia 2006

BOP League knockout cup

Taupo reserves 1984,2007

BOP League Knockout Bowl

Taupo Reserves 2010

Baywide Youth League Div 1

Taupo nui a Tia 2014

New World Cup Tournament Consolation Shield

Winners 1976

Runners Up 1984,1989,1993

City of Manakau Cup Tournament

Under 18s Winner 1998

Kawerau Pre Season Tournaments

Runners Up 1992

City of Manakau Cup Tournament

Runners Up 1998

Taupo District Sports Awards

Service to Sport 2013

Federation Player of the Years

Alan Lamb 2007

Federation Player of the Year

Mark Jones 2009

Federation Young Player of the Year

Tony Wall 2007

Federation Golden Boot

Alan Lamb 2007,2008,2009

March 1956

Meeting held in Rickit?s Tea Room at 8pm to establish a Soccer Club in Taupo convened by Messrs F.Howes,P.Fry & J.L.Burge

June 1956

Taupo United play their first home game against Rotorua Crusaders at the school ground Horomatangi Street which was a 0-0 draw

March 1957

First AGM of Taupo United AFC

August 1957

Club witdraw from BoP competition due to too many players working on Saturdays

May 1962

Meeting to revivie the soccer club results in the formation of Taupo Association Football Club


Three clubs are in existance in the Taupo area Taupo AFC, NZED Wairakei and Waite Tileman.


First junior team formed by Fred Williams aged between 11 and 15

September 1962

Taupo AFC turn down the offer of a base at the Kotare Street Domain as it was too far out


Taupo nui a Tia College field their first team going five games un defeated


There is an attempt to reform Taupo United but this fails but Turangi United are formed

May 1972

The first clubrooms are purchased and located on the AC Reserve

December 1972

The Junior and Senior sections of the club are formally separated

July 1973

Taupo Association Football Club officially incorporated


The first womens team is formed and they win the BoP league and knockout competition


Peter Henry transfers to North Shore United


Taupo juniors end their affiliation with BoP and join with Tokoroa and Putaruru to form the Midlands Junior Football Association

April 1977

Taupo Senior Women break a world record for 5 a side indoor soccer for playing continusly. The previous record was 40 hours the new record was 44.5 hours at 4.15 pm on Sunday 4th April

September 1977

Taupo finishes mid-table in BOP League

September 1977

Taupo finishes mid-table in BOP League

September 1977

Taupo Reserves are third in Tongariro League

September 1977

Taupo Women win the BOP League and Knockout as well as the North City FA Tournament

September 1977

Taupo fields an Under 18 team in the Coca Cola National Knockout competition

May 1978

Taupo's first year in Northern League & they finish 3rd in Northern League Division 4 (South)

June 1978

Jeff Rafferty takes Senior team off the field during game at Tauranga City following all-in brawl

September 1978

Taupo win Coltman Cup for Northern League Division 4 Cup competition

October 1978

Taupo runners-up at Taupo New World Cup tournament


Taupo Women win both BOP League and Knockout


Taupo Women's team (representing BOP) finish runners-up to Auckland at rep tournament in Hastings


Carol James,Megan Marshall,Judith van Schagen,Christine James,Irene Gray,Bev Bingham & Monica Flight selected for BOP Women's reps


Taupo Junior competition expands to 36 teams


Taupo's finish in the bottom half of the Northern League Division 4 (South)


Taupo Reserves finish third in Division 2 of the BOP League


Sandra Gray,Carol James,Monica Flight,Megan Marshall selected for BOP rep team


Taupo Women once again win the BOP League and Knockout as well as the North City FA Tournament

December 1979

Rotorua City protest Taupo Women's League win 10 weeks after the event - finally goes to NZ Soccer in December who rule in Taupo's favour


Taupo finish 4th in the Northern League Division 4 (South)

Never miss an update

Follow the site to get the latest news and results straight to your email

Follow the website now

Our Sponsors